The impact of versions on clones

Last updated Monday, October 12, 2015 in Sitecore Experience Platform for Content Author
Keywords: Clones, Items

If you want to clone an item that has multiple versions or if you want to have more than one version of a clone, you must be aware of the specific rules that define how the clones are updated.

Action

Effect

Cloning an item that has multiple versions

The clone links to the version of the original item that you selected when you created the clone.

Before cloning the item, make sure to select the appropriate version of the original item.

Adding a new version to the original item

A notification appears on the clone, asking you to decide whether you want to create a corresponding new version of the clone.

Adding a new version of the clone

The new version links to the version of the original item that the previous version of the clone linked to.

Updating a version of the original item

Only the clone versions that are linked to that specific version of the original item are updated accordingly.

Removing a version of the original item that has clones

All the clone versions that are linked to that specific version of the original item are uncloned.

This means that these versions of the clone are turned into regular items that no longer inherit any values from the original item.

Send feedback about the documentation to docsite@sitecore.net.