Edit the layout of an item

Last updated Monday, May 23, 2016 in Sitecore Experience Platform for Developer, Designer
Keywords: Design, Development, Layouts

Versioned layouts enables you to:

  • Specify the layout of an item
  • Reset the layout of an item

Specify the layout of an item

In the Content Editor, you can specify shared and versioned layouts of an item:

  1. On the Presentation tab, click Details.
  2. In the Layout Details dialog, on the Shared Layout tab, edit the layout details that apply to all the versions of the item.

    Picture 1

  3. Click OK to save and close the dialog.
  4. In the Content Editor, select a language and version of the item.

    Picture 2

  5. Open the Layout Details again and on the Final Layout tab, edit the layout details for the language version of the item.

    Picture 4

    Sitecore only uses the layout you specify on this tab for the selected version and language.

Reset the layout of an item

You can reset the layout of an item. When you reset a versioned layout, the final layout becomes the same as the shared layout of the item.

You can reset versioned layouts in these ways:

  • Reset only the versioned layout for the current version of the item.
  • Reset the versioned layout for all versions in the currently selected language of the item.
  • Reset the versioned layout for all versions in all languages.

You can reset a shared layout to the one defined in the standard values item of the data template that the item is based on.

To reset the layout of an item, in the Content Editor:

  1. On the Presentation tab, click Reset.

    Picture 5

  2. In the Reset Layout dialog, select either Reset the versioned presentation details or Reset the shared presentation details, or both, and click OK.
Send feedback about the documentation to docsite@sitecore.net.